Regional Development Australia - Wheatbelt
An Australian Government Initiative

What is RDA Wheatbelt


Regional Development Australia (RDA) is a national network of Committees made up of local leaders who work with all levels of government, business and community groups to support the economic development of their regions.

RDA Committees have an active and facilitative role in their communities and a clear focus on growing strong and confident regional economies that harness their competitive advantages, seize on economic opportunity and attract investment.

Working in close partnership with fellow RDA Committees, all levels of government, and the private sector, RDA Committees will:
  1. Facilitate regional economic development outcomes, investment, local procurement and jobs.
  2. Promote greater regional awareness of and engagement with Australian Government policies, grant programs and research.
  3. Improve Commonwealth regional policy making by providing intelligence and evidence based advice to the Australian Government on regional development issues.
  4. Co-ordinate the development of a strategic regional plan, or work with suitable existing regional plans that will align with the Commonwealth’s regional priorities.
RDA Wheatbelt major stakeholders include:
  • The 42 Local Government Authorities that make up the Wheatbelt region.
  • The Wheatbelt Development Commission (WDC) – a statutory authority charged with the role of implementing the State’s Regional Development Policy.
  • Local community members and community groups.
  • The 41 Wheatbelt Community Resource Network Centres and Network.
  • WA Local Government Association – Three zones Great Eastern Country, Avon-Midland Country and Central Country. 
  • Regional Organisation of Councils (ROC) - Seven active groups.
  • The Wheatbelt Business Network (WBN).
  • Local industry groups (such as Wheatbelt Grower Groups).
  • State and Federal government agencies and departments.